Israel invades Gaza. Will the world please wake up now?

2

January 4, 2009 by theradicalmormon

I am filled with grief to see today, as I come back from a day of recreation with my family, that Israel has invaded Gaza on the ground:

http://news.antiwar.com/2009/01/03/israeli-troops-invade-gaza-strip/

As I sit here typing this with my 3 year old daughter on my lap late at night, I cannot help but to feel grief for the fathers who will not be able to shield their daughters from Israeli bullets and missiles and bombs.  As my sweet little girl puts her arms around my neck and kisses my cheek, I cannot help but to think of the little children of Gaza who’s ears are dulled by the weapons fired around them, who see their fathers and brothers killed, their bodies torn apart by cruel gods of steel.  So many people will pass from this world today as a result of this unthinkable act of violence.  I pray that even Obama and Bush will be horrified by the volume of blood shed by now and will call on Israel to cease fire.  This has got to stop.  I know the purpose of my fasting tomorrow.  I pray that many will join me in calling upon God to open the eyes of world leaders to exert pressure on Israel to stop their murders.

2 thoughts on “Israel invades Gaza. Will the world please wake up now?

  1. Ron Madson says:

    It is conceivable that if all of the church leaders in Germany during the rise of Naziism had openly and publicly denounced the treatment of the Jews they could have galvanized public opinion, thereby, preventing the Holocaust and perhaps frozen any further ambitions Hitler may have had militarily or otherwise. But as to our faith, with the exception of a few individuals like Helmuth Hubener no one “peeped or muttered” any objections and in fact there were no official ecclesiastical voice to be heard denouncing Hitler’s acts towards the Jews prior to the commencement of the war. Our leadership fell back on the the refrain of “sustaining any government” no matter how criminal it might be (ignoring the obvious conditional qualifiers to such support–DC 134: 2,5). Now seventy years later nothing has changed. Only the “radical” few in our faith raise their opposition—polls show overwhelming support among LDS for Israel no matter how genocidal their acts. You pray that leaders hearts will be softened or enlightened? Personally I pray that the Lord would send a prophet as He did in the past denouncing Israel and educating Zion about the nature of real Christianity. It would be a good start.

  2. Grégoire says:

    Yahoo’s US subscribers appear to be unable to reach the following photos from their domestic setup. (I’m in the US now but I have a condo in Surrey and I work there).

    http://ca.news.yahoo.com/nphotos/Israel/ss/events/wl/20070128_israel

    There was a huge demonstration in Vancouver today. If I can get photos I’ll post ’em on my site.

    http://ca.news.yahoo.com/s/capress/090103/national/cda_gaza_protests

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 256 other followers

Categories

Archives

