A voice is heard in Gaza, lamentation and bitter weeping

2

January 21, 2009 by J. Madson

“A voice is heard in Gaza, lamentation and bitter weeping. Rachel is weeping for her children; she refuses to be comforted for her children, because they are no more”

I hate having to constantly return to this subject and am wary readers think we have nothing more to discuss than Israel and Palestine but after watching the following videos my heart sank. I heard the voices of the victims. I knew this man’s voice deserved to be heard.

On the eve of today’s inauguration Israel issued a unilateral ceasefire. Hamas followed shortly after. What have they accomplished short of the deaths of over a 1000 people? The news in Israel and in Arabic television is the following incident that occurred on live tv in Israel two days ago. It is heartbreaking to watch. On the eve of a ceasefire this man and his family have lost three children. what for? why? I cannot hear his screams or the screams of any victim and not feel a profound loss and fear that we will never learn how to reconcile our differences without violence. Hamas and Israel are to blame for these deaths

remaining coverage below.

This is the follow up after the live portion. The journalist was able to get an ambulance to the Doctors home and save one of his daughters.

A press conference was held and afterwords a handful of Israeli’s offered no sympathy but accusations. Where is simple humanity, kindness, mercy? This tribalism and nationalism is a plague that blinds us to our universal humanity.

2 thoughts on “A voice is heard in Gaza, lamentation and bitter weeping

  1. theradicalmormon says:

    I fail to see how Hamas is responsible for Israel’s massacre of it’s children. You’ll have to educate me on that one.

  2. J. Madson says:

    I agree that it is Israeli weapons, bombs, and tanks (lets be even more accurate and say US weapons like the bunker busters being used) killing Palestinians. Trust me I am not defending Israel only expressing my concern that Hamas has contributed to the problem with its rhetoric, rockets, and failure to grasp the Israeli eagerness to use violence. I sense they are often blinded by their zeal and take steps that put Palestinian lives at risk. There are individuals within the Palestinian world who I believe would move things towards peace in a much better fashion than Hamas.

    Certainly Israel is, imho, the one’s largely responsible for the current violence. So that I am more clear, I beleive that Israeli stated intentions, as Peres stated before AIPAC “”Israel’s aim [in attacking Gaza] was to provide a strong blow to the people of Gaza” is evidence that what Israel was doing is nothing short of terrorism. Or the statement from the Haaretz in October of last year from the IDF: “We will wield disproportionate power against every village from which shots are fired on Israel, and cause immense damage and destruction.”

    However, I am not going to pretend Hamas is a lily white saint either. My problem with Hamas is that I do not see them as peacemakers. It is the tribalistic attitudes that occur I believe among segments of Israel and the Arab world that lead to a failure to appreciate the humanity of the other side. Sending rockets into civilian areas, suicide bombings, etc are wrong regardless of the brutality of Israeli occupation. And when I speak of Hamas I see them as separate from the Palestinian people. The Palestinian people deserve better.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 259 other followers

Categories

Archives

