Students Shot While Cameras Roll!

1

June 19, 2009 by Gsmith

Working people in the West should not be fooled by meaningless differences in skin colour, religion, language and culture. These are working people, small businesspeople and intellectuals. They are the same as you and me. They are peacefully protesting for things like free/fair elections, access to free press, and the right to assemble. All things that we, sadly, are totally complacent about and which most don’t care about.

This is a good example of what happens when a class is about to be dispossessed of its power to irresponsibly suck all the wealth and benefits of a society for its own petty amusements. These people will stoop to anything.

The protestors in Iran today are fighting for their freedom, and ours. Where the struggle is, there we are in the midst of it. Working people everywhere are all Iranians today, and we should support them in their struggle to build a more just society.

One thought on “Students Shot While Cameras Roll!

  1. J. Madson says:

    Tomorrow looks like it may be even more violent. I read these words from an Iranian blogger. I dont fully understand what is going on in Iran but I have to admire the courage of those who believe they are seeking a better Iran

    “I will participate in the demonstrations tomorrow. Maybe they will turn violent. Maybe I will be one of the people who is going to get killed. I’m listening to all my favorite music. I even want to dance to a few songs. I always wanted to have very narrow eyebrows. Yes, maybe I will go to the salon before I go tomorrow! There are a few great movie scenes that I also have to see. I should drop by the library, too. It’s worth to read the poems of Forough and Shamloo again. All family pictures have to be reviewed, too. I have to call my friends as well to say goodbye. All I have are two bookshelves which I told my family who should receive them. I’m two units away from getting my bachelors degree but who cares about that. My mind is very chaotic. I wrote these random sentences for the next generation so they know we were not just emotional and under peer pressure. So they know that we did everything we could to create a better future for them. So they know that our ancestors surrendered to Arabs and Mongols but did not surrender to despotism. This note is dedicated to tomorrow’s children…” – an Iranian blogger

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 259 other followers

Categories

Archives

