This 9/11

8

September 21, 2009 by J. Madson

IMG_0121I wanted to post this sooner but have been busy. I took a quick picture on my phone and thought some might find this interesting. This is a picture of one of the LDS chapels in my neighborhood this past September 11. I think this is a fine case of syncretism or meshing to disparate and conflicting ideas into one. Im sure many members would disagree with me but nationalism and flagophilia are not the gospel of Christ. Just my two cents.

8 thoughts on “This 9/11

  1. kathrin raab says:

    As an Austrian Mormon I have to admit that this picture literally makes me weep … but since I have lived in the US for a few years now I am unfortunately not too surprised by it either. I have found that the US Mormon culture has made nationalism part of its “gospel” and this profound idolatry has made it extremely hard for me and my family to go to church.

  2. Joseph says:

    Seems like I read Hugh Nibley quoting Brigham Young as saying that nationalism is an important weapon of the adversary (I don’t have an exact citation, but it was from a transcript of one of his last semesters teaching an honors course on the Book of Mormon). We have somehow lost track of the idea that caring about where you live and trying to make it better is not the same as blind nationalism. And I see it as disrespectful to the flag to just stick it everywhere and on everything. Of course, it’s even more disrespectful to use it to wrap around lies as Pete Seeger points out in “The Torn Flag.”

  3. kathrin raab-questenberg says:

    Is this the Brigham Young quote you were looking for?
    “Very closely allied to this party spirit is the national feeling that some exhibit. This national feeling is another feature of “Gentilism.” “Gentilism” breaks up the family of man, and divides them off into parties and nations, having contrary interests. “Mormonism,” on the other hand, . . . by drawing them from all nations . . . unites the family of man. . . . There are good and bad . . . qualities in all nations. . . . All real Saints, when they receive the Gospel, will readily relinquish party spirit and national feeling, and count such things as the distinctive ornaments of Satan’s kingdom.”
    Author: Brigham Young, Source: Millennial Star 16:210

  4. Joseph says:

    It definitely works. Bear in mind I am referring to a paraphrase Hugh Nibley made in a transcription of a lecture (so no footnotes), attributing it to Brigham Young. I think Nibley said something about Brigham saying nationalism was one of Satan’s chief arrows in his quiver, or something like that. The quote you give here definitely demonstrates that Brigham did have such notions. Thanks!

  5. Forest Simmons says:

    According to the scriptures, nationalism is going the way of the dodo bird:

    Jer. 30: 11 For I am with thee, saith the Lord, to save thee: though I make a full end of all nations whither I have scattered thee, yet will I not make a full end of thee: but I will correct thee in measure, and will not leave thee altogether unpunished.

    Jer. 46: 28 Fear thou not, O Jacob my servant, saith the Lord: for I am with thee; for I will make a full end of all the nations whither I have driven thee: but I will not make a full end of thee, but correct thee in measure; yet will I not leave thee wholly unpunished.

    D&C 87: 6 And thus, with the sword and by bloodshed the inhabitants of the earth shall mourn; and with famine, and plague, and earthquake, and the thunder of heaven, and the fierce and vivid lightning also, shall the inhabitants of the earth be made to feel the wrath, and indignation, and chastening hand of an Almighty God, until the consumption decreed hath made a full end of all nations;

    The sooner we get over it, the better.

  6. will says:

    its frustrating when nationalism or capitalism or war is embraced so enthusiastically by fellow church members, but if the left wing members leave or don’t come any more, all we do is leave the church to the conservatives. i think its important that we all stick around.

    • kathrin raab-questenberg says:

      Oh and we do stick around ; well , most of the time.
      I do not want to imply that I am actually anywhere near “humble, pure and/or sanctified” ( I am so NOT) , but this following scripture helps me and my family to keep going…. (and it also so happens that because of the “opposition” encountered at church we have immersed ourselves so much more into the scriptures/discussing them and the doctrines as a family than we would have had things in church been more peachy.)

      Helaman 3:33 And in the *fifty and first year of the reign of the judges there was peace also, save it were the pride which began to enter into the church—not into the church of God, but into the hearts of the people who professed to belong to the church of God—
      34 And they were lifted up in pride, even to the persecution of many of their brethren. Now this was a great evil, which did cause the more humble part of the people to suffer great persecutions, and to wade through much affliction.
      35 Nevertheless they did fast and pray oft, and did wax stronger and stronger in their humility, and firmer and firmer in the faith of Christ, unto the filling their souls with joy and consolation, yea, even to the purifying and the sanctification of their hearts, which sanctification cometh because of their yielding their hearts unto God.

  7. Forest Simmons says:

    I love that scripture.

    Also 2 Nephi 28:14 is helpful to keep things in perspective:

    They wear stiff necks and high heads; yea, and because of pride, and wickedness, and abominations, and whoredoms, they have all gone astray save it be a few, who are the humble followers of Christ; nevertheless, they are led, that in many instances they do err because they are taught by the precepts of men.

    Many of our fellow humble followers of Christ are led to err by listening to hate radio, etc.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 260 other followers

Categories

Archives

