The Hit List

14

February 9, 2010 by J. Madson

UPDATE BELOW

Yes folks, the United States is now at least being consistent. One of the major complaints about the past administration was that they should focus more on domestic issues. So it should be heartening (err.. sickening) to learn that its no longer acceptable to just kill abroad but we are finally getting the job done at home.

The president has reserved the right to murder even US citizens.

UPDATE: Ron Paul addresses this on the house floor

14 thoughts on “The Hit List

  1. Joseph says:

    Wow. Scary. I’m just not sure how to wake our politicians up to the fact that people are upset. They seem to just be in another world.

  2. Brian says:

    Joseph, I’m not sure if the people are upset. I wonder if it’s not the politicians that are in another world but the general populous.

  3. Joseph says:

    Brian, you’re probably right. People are angry, but they are generally angry about the wrong things. But the politicians are pretty out of it as well.

  4. Forest Simmons says:

    Here’s a link to a counterpunch piece on this topic:

    http://counterpunch.org/roberts02102010.html

  5. SUNNofaB.C.Rich says:

    So would any of you be upset if we killed Anwar al-Awlaki?

  6. Forest Simmons says:

    Here’s another short article on this topic:

    http://www.counterpunch.org/landau02122010.html

  7. J. Madson says:

    I added Ron Paul’s latest speech from the house floor which is worth watching

  8. tariq says:

    Sadly, the two guys in congress who are the most reasonable about these kinds of issues – Dennis Kucinich and Ron Paul – are the two guys who are most ridiculed and marginalized by their own parties. While I have clear philosophical disagreements with both of them, I think that if more democrats were like Kucinich, and more republicans were like Ron Paul, this country would be alot better off. Alas, the USA doesn’t like truth tellers.

  9. SUNNofaB.C.Rich says:

    Counterpunch quotes Wikipedia…

    1st link refers to the branch davidians which makes me wonder if you guys have ever endorsed him with an article saying “listen to the reasons he gave for doing it”

    2nd link is gibberish.

  10. Joseph says:

    I am disappointed in the first article’s use of Wikipedia as a valid source. They could have dug deeper to find where that news story actually came from.

    But the essential claim that we have become a police state is something I have personally experienced. Two police officers broke into my home and put guns to my head, forcing me outside and onto the ground, all based on a phone call with incorrect information. I don’t trust our government to know who and who not to assassinate.

  11. SUNNofaB.C.Rich says:

    Joseph, so did they find that the cops did anything procedurally wrong? Did you at least get an apology… I’d be pissed about that too…

    As for Aaifa Siddiqui is she even an American citizen? The article says she is… but i’m pretty sure she’s a Pakistani citizen.

    Ruby Ridge and Waco are better examples… Looking at the rules of engagement for the Ruby Ridge shootout, they’re way less restrictive than the rules of engagement we had in Iraq.

  12. Joseph says:

    I couldn’t afford a lawyer, so the cops got off. The charges against me were of course dismissed, since I wasn’t even remotely guilty of anything, but that didn’t change how badly I was treated. Looking back I wish I had broken out my credit card and gone after the officers with a good aggressive lawyer, since law enforcement should not get away with things like that. I think about anyone could agree with that, regardless of political persuasion. My main point is that I don’t trust law enforcement at any level to make decisions on who and who not to assassinate without due process, etc.

    I do agree, however, that Aafia Siddiqui is a bad example. I agree with Forest’s viewpoints, and he generally has great things to share, but the two Counterpunch articles above are pretty weak. I also enjoy counterpunch.org, but as with any media (and here I include print and television as well as online) bad reporting makes it through sometimes. Citing Wikipedia articles always sends off alarm bells for me. Wikipedia’s a decent place to start looking at something of interest (and I personally use it frequently for that), but stopping there is a bad idea. Serious reporters should never use it as far as I’m concerned. It’s just lazy, as well as weakening to one’s credibility.

    As I have searched, I haven’t found any solid sources indicating that she is a U.S. citizen. According to the Christian Science Monitor, she is Pakistani. It does seem to me she and her family have been severely mistreated, which I do not take lightly, but the Counterpunch article misapplies the implications of this. This is ultimately another example of how mistreatment and torture taint the image of the U.S. as well as being just plain wrong and Siddiqui’s story belongs under a post dealing with torture.

    Still, it is terrifying what the Bush administration, and now the Obama administration, is eroding in terms of our civil rights and protections as U.S. citizens. It can’t lead anywhere good.

  13. Joseph says:

    A correction:

    I have read the two articles more closely. I actually take back calling both articles weak. The second one actually has some good points. Neither articles are put forth as actual research, but opinions, and their reasoning is sound.

    The Aafia Siddiqui information is wrong and weakens the first article, but it doesn’t cause the essential argument to completely unravel. Dennis Blair’s pronouncement fundamentally changes U.S. policy. While Ruby Ridge and Waco were wrong, and the government did mess up, those could be considered aberrations. The government made up excuses for the mistakes it made, it didn’t try to justify them with a totalitarian policy.

    I do stand by my statements about Wikipedia, however. And it is a demonstration of the need to get one’s facts straight before diving into an argument. If I were grading the first essay I wouldn’t fail it, but it wouldn’t be an A either (C+, B- at best).

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 256 other followers

Categories

Archives

