A Trade Unionist in Egypt

Leave a comment

February 16, 2011 by The Mormon Worker

By Carl Finamore

CAIRO-I arrived at a nearly empty Cairo airport one day after President Hosni Mubarak resigned, an act thought unthinkable only 18 days ago. Over one million tourists left Egypt in the last week according to the country’s press reports, so the hotels and streets were empty of visitors.

I, myself, was eager to see how a people’s movement actually was able to forge such a powerful movement in such a short span of time. I was excited and exhilarated to be here.

I passed the presidential palace while on my way to downtown Cairo and heard the constant car horn honking by passing motorists celebrating Mubarak’s departure. This gave me my first indication that I was entering a city super-charged with confidence and enthusiasm. I would see the same excitement throughout the streets of Cairo on my first day.

Read the rest of this article here.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 259 other followers

Categories

Archives

