“I teach them correct principles, and they govern themselves.” – Joseph Smith

1

May 29, 2011 by Thailer Snow Bushman

Since the first edition of the Mormon Worker we have used this quote of Joseph Smith as part of the front banner. I remember formatting it on there because of the Anarchistic nature of the quote. I never really knew the context of the quote. Today I stumbled across a blog that does share the context of the quote. I found it pretty interesting. So I thought I would share. http://www.lextek.com/clark/10890.html

One thought on ““I teach them correct principles, and they govern themselves.” – Joseph Smith

  1. Although I knew the basics of this story, it had not occurred to me that the politician was wondering how he could “control” people politically the way JS was able to.

    It reminds me of how the entire Republican establishment was tripping over themselves after the Ron Paul moneybomb brought in 4 million dollars in one day. How did he do it? What was his secret?

    The answer, of course, was that neither Ron Paul nor his campaign had anything to do with raising that money. But Ron paul espoused correct principles, and the followers responded ON THEIR OWN.

    The other Republican candidates could not duplicate that success because they were not principled.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 246 other followers

Categories

Archives

