A brief homage to the applied brilliance of the people I have met in the last 12 hours at Occupy Nashville:

1

October 25, 2011 by tristan savage

Dillon has been on the street for years, but as a kid used to sneak into quantum physics classes after he ended up on his own in Denver a few years ago. He spent the night explaining neuroscience to me. He’s hoping he can get afforable access to Middle Tennessee State University soon- he is thinking he might study political science. He let me sleep in his tent with him, after finishing a great graffiti mural on a big piece of cardboard he found.

After I woke up and packed my stuff, I met Chris, who lives here at the plaza, and asked me what I study. When I said anthropology, he started asking me questions about Marshal Sahlins and the political economy of hunter-gatherer societies. We talked about the dialectic of simple living versus overproduction as different roads to affluence. He’s reading a book on nonviolence he found in the Occupy Nashville library, but says he’d love to get a copy of some Marshal Sahlins articles. I’ve been in anthropology grad school for years, but the intellectual curiosity and commitment of my bunkmates on the street is something I haven’t seen for a long time.

Solidarity to our Occupier brothers and sisters around the world,

Tristan

Occupied Nashville

One thought on “A brief homage to the applied brilliance of the people I have met in the last 12 hours at Occupy Nashville:

  1. I think you’re easily impressed.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 246 other followers

Categories

Archives

